The beginning

So, here I am on the eve of unveiling my big plan to the world. I’m anxious & very nervous. I don’t want this to be about me. It’s about Parkinson’s awareness & raising money to fund Parkinson’s research. This is just the best way I could come up with to actually do something constructive for my Mom.

So what am I doing? My Mom, Debby Gray, was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease (PD) during the fall of 2005. This was a disease I knew very, very little about . After researching PD I realized that while there are treatments & drugs to help with her PD symptoms, there is NO CURE. I’ve watched her PD slowly progress & her symptoms become somewhat worse, especially during the summer of 2011 when she selflessly became a participant in a PD drug study. After the study concluded, we learned she was in the placebo group. My Mom volunteered to hopefully help others who are diagnosed with PD & that is always her intention when it comes to “treating” her PD. I have struggled for years with how to help my Mom. Recently, it came to me!

I began running in May of 2011 to shed some post-baby #4 weight. It worked & I was quickly hooked. I love running! I ran my 1st 5k in October 2011 & 1st 10k in March 2012, all local events. I set my goals on greater things: completed Disney’s Tower of Terror 10 miler in September 2012 & my 1st half marathon at Rock & Roll Savannah in November 2012.

I am now ready for more & setting my sights on my 1st ever marathon! Shortly after completing my 1st half & deciding I want to run a full marathon, the idea hit: I can use that race to help raise money for PD research! But not just by running 1 race, I want to run at least one per month during 2013, including my 1st ever marathon in the fall — all for PD research. How could I do this though, handle the fundraising side? Ah, ha! I found Team Fox (a part of the Michael J. Fox Foundation) online & realized I could make it a reality: I could run my heart out AND help my Mom & those with PD! 🙂

My goal is to run 120 race miles by completing a handful of local races, 4-5 half marathons & my 1st ever marathon; all during 2013. I am currently in the process of scheduling each race & will keep this site updated with the events I am running.  I WOULD LOVE FOR FRIENDS TO RUN WITH ME!  Running is much more fun with a friend (and warning, I may wear a tutu).

Please support me with your prayers. I must stay healthy to accomplish my goals. Many of you know I currently have issues with my iliotibial bands, which cause pain in my kness (left mainly) about 3 miles into each run. I am taking December 2012 off from running to rehab my ITBs. I appreciate your prayers tremendously. If you are lead to donate to Parkinson’s research & my goal, please visit my Team Fox fundraising page here: my Team Fox website .

TENTATIVE LIST OF RACES: (bold denotes races I am registered for)

1/1/13: Resolution Run 5K (Rocky Mount, NC)  Information HERE

2/9/13: Cupids Crawl 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

3/17/13: Tobacco Road Half Marathon (Cary, NC)  Information HERE

4/6/13: Eastern Run/Walk for Autism 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

4/20/13: Pirate Alumni 5K (downtown Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

4/28/13:  Divas Half Marathon (North Myrtle Beach, SC)  Information HERE

5/18/13:  Bright Night for Ovarian Cancer 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

6/1/13:  Lookout Capital Half Marathon (Raleigh, NC)  Information HERE

6/22/13:  Flat Out 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

9/6-7/13: Blue Ridge Relay with the Greenville Running Group (VA & NC mountains, aprox 17 miles)  Information HERE

10/5/13: Good Samaritan 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information coming

10/27/13:  Marine Corps Marathon (Washington, DC)  Information HERE

11/28/13:  Beau’s Buddies Turkey Trot for Tots 5K (Greenville, NC)  Information coming

12/7/13: Reindeer Dash for Cash 10 Miler (Greenville, NC)  Information HERE

Leave a Reply

